THIS IS A CALL FOR PICTURES AND/ OR COORDINATES OF PARKING GUARD HOUSES

Dear all, recently I’ve started with a research project about parking guard houses. I’d like to collect as much documentation as possible about these small pieces of architecture you often find at the entrance of parking lots. And I’d be grateful if you’d help me with that!

At the moment I already collected some data on a few examples in my hometown Leuven (B). Below you’ll find some pictures. Leuven has quite a few, since there are (or used to be) some big parking spaces. Some are near the buildings of the university scattered around the city, some are part of the infrastructure of hospitals. I observed that most of them aren’t in use anymore. Moreover, until recently there was a nice one situated on the feeder road to the site of the Gasthuisberg hospital, but apparently it has been removed. My personal favourite is at the Brusselsestraat, on the parking lot of the St.-Rafael Hospital.

If you are aware of another structure of this kind – I don’t even know whether there is a proper word for them – please be so kind to send me a photograph and/ or its coordinates. You can use my e-mail address dr_poppers@hotmail.com. Everything will be posted on this blog with your credits. As I’ve said, at this moment I’m focussing primarily on those in the greater Leuven area, but I’d like to build up a modest collection of photos of parking guard houses around the world. Stories, anecdotes, information about people who work/ worked in them, essays or newspaper clippings are of course welcome too.

Pass on this message to your friends. I thank you very much!

Parking guard house at St.-Rafael hospital, Brusselsestraat, Leuven (B).

Parking guard house at St.-Rafael hospital, Brusselsestraat, Leuven (B).

Parking guard house at St.-Rafael hospital, Brusselsestraat, Leuven (B).

___________

Parking guard house at private parking on Vital Decosterstraat, Leuven (B).

Parking guard house at private parking on Vital Decosterstraat, Leuven (B).

___________

Parking guard house at St.-Rafael hospital (entrance Kapucijnenvoer), Leuven (B).

Parking guard house at St.-Rafael hospital (entrance Kapucijnenvoer), Leuven (B).

Parking guard house at St.-Rafael hospital (entrance Kapucijnenvoer), Leuven (B).

___________

Parking guard house at private parking KUL, Schapenstraat, Leuven (B).

Parking guard house at private parking KUL, Schapenstraat, Leuven (B).

Parking guard house at private parking KUL, Schapenstraat, Leuven (B).

Leave a Reply

